Shuswap MLA Greg Kyllo steps down as BC Liberal Deputy Whip; endorses Kevin Falcon

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – November 30, 2021

SALMON ARM — Shuswap MLA Greg Kyllo announced on Tuesday that he had stepped down from his role as Deputy Whip for the BC Liberal Caucus in order to endorse Kevin Falcon to be the next BC Liberal leader.

“Kevin’s experience makes him uniquely qualified to tackle the challenges facing our province today. Whether it’s handling crises, or taking action on housing, childcare, and the economy, we need his experience,” said Kyllo. “I feel so strongly about this decision that I resigned my position as Deputy Whip in order to be able to endorse Kevin Falcon.”

Kyllo highlighted Falcon’s experience and well-run campaign as being key factors in his decision to support the former Minister of Transportation for the BC Liberal leadership.

“Kevin is a builder. He’s proven that both with his experience in cabinet, and with the strong team he’s built during this leadership race,” continued Kyllo. “Throughout his campaign, he has consistently been drawing large, enthusiastic crowds, and he has the most support among MLAs — both urban and rural.” 

Falcon thanked Kyllo for his support, heralding him for his work as an MLA. 

“Greg has been an excellent representative for the Shuswap Region,” said Falcon. “Our party is lucky to have him as an MLA and I’m excited to work with him going forward.” 

Kevin Falcon previously served as Deputy Premier, Minister of Finance, Minister of Health, and Minister of Transportation. Falcon has already received endorsements from BC Liberal MLAs Todd Stone, Mike Bernier, Mike Morris, Lorne Doerkson, Coralee Oakes, Ian Paton, Trevor Halford, and Karin Kirkpatrick as well as former Surrey mayor and MP Dianne Watts, and Fort St. John Mayor Lori Ackerman. 

The BC Liberal Party will vote for their new leader between February 3rd to 5th, 2022.  


Media Contact:

Deanie Wong